Caprese Burger & Tempranillo

9 Jul

Continuing on with my burger theme, I have a new recipe combining one of my old time favorite Italian appetizers and those delicious beef patties Americans consume so often. Maybe the 4th of July influenced my patriotism more than I realize. I am also training for a marathon so serious meat is really what I crave. I had planned on making fish tacos tonight but after a 6 mile run, that meal just wasn’t going to do it for me. With some leftover fresh mozzarella in the refrigerator and a tree of fresh basil in my garden, I created the caprese burger. Also, look for the pickled red onion and cucumber salad listed as a side.
Since I was making this European style burger, I figured an old world style wine would fit perfectly. If I was staying with Italy, Chianti comes to mind but that seemed a little too light bodied to stand up to a red meat. Barolo, Barbera, and Barbaresco from Piedmont in Northern Italy would have been a good accompaniment but those aren’t as readily available in stores as good value Tempranillos are these days. I recommend Rejadorada Tinto Roble from Toro. This Tempranillo has been aged 6 months in oak and has a delicious dry backbone that complements the burgers perfectly. Think black… black pepper, blackberries, black currant. Sidenote… the #2 wine on Wine Spectator’s Top 100 this past year was from Toro in Spain. The region is hot! Grab a Joven if you want a $10 great value, although you’ll be sacrificing the oak. See below for my Caprese burger and salad…
Caprese Burger Patties
1 lb 80/20 ground beef
1 egg
1/6 cup oatmeal
Salt and pepper
Dash of red pepper flakes
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 minced garlic cloves
To Dress up the burger:
Kaiser rolls toasted with olive oil
Fresh basil leaves
Fresh mozzarella ball- slice and add in last stages of grilling
Roasted red pepper slices
Dijon if interested in extra sauce
Grill burgers to desired temperature and add cheese right before taking off.
Cucumber and Pickled Red Onion Salad
Sliced red onion
Sliced cucumber
White wine vinegar
Salt and Pepper
Crumbled goat cheese
Grape tomatoes cut in half
Slice up the onion and cucumber and marinate in desired amount of vinegar for a few hours. Add the rest right before serving.

One Response to “Caprese Burger & Tempranillo”

  1. Anna July 13, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Love this, I have got to try it!!

Leave a comment